Send us your video!
https://youtu.be/Quc8XIlLdws

ePOP IN TWO WORDS (OR ONE MORE...)

AN INTERNATIONAL NETWORK AT THE SERVICE OF YOUTH, INTERGENERATIONAL LINKS AND KNOWLEDGE SHARING

ePOP is an international citizen network of information and exchanges developed by RFI Planet Radio and theInstitute for Research and Development (IRD). The objective is simple but ambitious: to promote the dissemination of collaborative, accessible and quality information based on testimonials collected by young volunteers, responsible and supportive, the " ePOPers ". This intergenerational approach, which closely associates the international scientific community, is also part of a desire to nourish the archives of the intangible heritage of humanity.

THE ePOPers NETWORK

Young people from the five continents produce video reports that relay the observations and questions of local populations, to report on the direct consequences of climate and global changes affecting their environments, or more simply their daily lives. In these short videos posted on epop.network and on Facebook and Instagram, people confide their feelings and question scientists and experts from around the world. To federate its network, ePOP is setting up workshops in different countries to facilitate the exchange of skills between young ePOPers.

https://www.instagram.com/tv/B0FkVdjHIWq
The Instagram format
https://www.facebook.com/ePOPNetwork/videos/474494633108443
The Facebook format
https://youtu.be/rBJZfOeJKdU
The epop.network format

The AFTER-POPMicro public conferences, presented as coffee/debates, will soon be organized in parallel with major international events dealing with environmental and climate issues (COPs, IPCC meetings, World Environment Forum, etc.). Conceived around an audience of experts, politicians, artists and NGO leaders, they will allow local citizens to openly debate the proposals suggested during the day by official personalities and organisations.

FINALLY BECOME AWARE OF THE FEELINGS OF LOCAL POPULATIONS AND PROVIDE ELEMENTS OF RESPONSE

ePOP calls upon experts who take note of the feelings and questions presented in the videos. These respond to these questions and illustrate the role of research in analyzing and managing the issues raised. The themes covered by the network of mobilized researchers cover several fields: erosion, invasive species, freshwater and natural resource management, food security, population displacement, safeguarding cultural heritage, social impacts, etc.

A PARTICIPATIVE INTERNET PLATFORM AND A STRONG PRESENCE ON SOCIAL NETWORKS

ePOP relies on its Facebook page(https://www.facebook.com/ePOPNetwork/ ) and its intuitive download platform (epop.network), fed by the productions of the ePOPers network. They are all designed as :

  • Information areas with a dynamic presentation of the topics dealt with by the ePOPers clubs;
  • Exchange spaces that invite Internet users to dialogue with the ePOPers ;
  • Documentary resource spaces offered by the IRD's digital media library;
  • Interactive tools to inform and disseminate the videos made by the ePOPers.

THE AFTER-POP

In order to debate together the testimonies shared in the video capsules, ePOP regularly initiates public micro-conferences with screenings around the world. The After-POPs, that's what they are called, are designed as coffee/debates and are usually held in meeting places such as Breweries, Cultural Centres or University halls. The workshops, built around an audience of experts, politicians, artists and NGO leaders, allow local citizens to openly debate the proposals suggested during the day by official personalities and organisations. The After-POPs are notably organized in the margins of major international events dealing with environmental and climate issues (COP, IPCC meetings, World Environment Forum, etc.).

VERY SOCIAL NETWORKS

Since its creation, ePOP has always been very present on social networks. In addition to the general information available on its website (epop.network) or more specifically related to the Contest (concours.epop.network), the Instagram and Facebook networks host the real ePOP daily newspapers. And by the way, every Friday, when the capsule of the week is published on Facebook, it's the fair for debates and remarks! Posts from all over the world come to comment or support the capsule directors. Between ePOPers, it goes like this...

ePOP IN FIGURES

With a network of ePOPers from 43 countries, and publications in 69 languages and dialects, the ePOP participatory network is doing well. A media library of over 1,000 videos from six continents, growing by the day, a growing community, three regional offices around the world, and capsules exported by the hundreds of thousands every year. In addition to its numerous publications on Facebook/Instagram, the life of the community is also fueled by solutions-based journalism, which is shared daily on our tools.

Les inscriptions sont closes !

ePOP EN DEUX MOTS (OU UN PEU PLUS…)

UN RÉSEAU INTERNATIONAL AU SERVICE DE LA JEUNESSE, DES LIENS INTERGÉNÉRATIONNELS ET DU PARTAGE DES SAVOIRS

ePOP est un réseau citoyen international d’information et d’échanges développé par RFI Planète Radio et l’Institut de Recherche et Développement (IRD). L’objectif est simple mais ambitieux : promouvoir la diffusion d’une information collaborative, accessible et de qualité à partir de témoignages recueillis par des jeunes bénévoles, responsables et solidaires, les « ePOPers ». Cette démarche intergénérationnelle qui associe étroitement la communauté scientifique internationale, s’inscrit parallèlement dans une volonté de nourrir les archives du patrimoine immatériel de l’humanité.

LE RÉSEAU D’ePOPers

Des jeunes issus des cinq continents, réalisent des reportages vidéo qui relaient les constats et interrogations des populations locales, pour rendre compte des conséquences directes liées aux changements climatiques et globaux affectant leurs environnements, ou plus simplement leurs vies quotidiennes. Dans ces courtes vidéos mises en ligne sur epop.network et sur Facebook et Instagram, les populations confient leurs ressentis et interrogent des scientifiques et des experts du monde entier. Pour fédérer son réseau, ePOP met en place, dans différents pays, des ateliers qui facilitent l’échange de compétences entre les jeunes ePOPers.

https://www.instagram.com/tv/B0FkVdjHIWq
Le format Instagram
https://www.facebook.com/ePOPNetwork/videos/474494633108443
Le format Facebook
Le format epop.network

Les AFTER-POP, de micro conférences publiques présentées comme des café/débats, seront prochainement organisées en marge des grands évènements internationaux traitant des problématiques environnementales et climatiques (COP, réunions GIEC, Forum Mondiaux Environnement, etc.). Conçues autour d’un parterre d’experts, de politiques, d’artistes et de responsables d’ONG, elles permettront aux citoyens locaux de débattre ouvertement des propositions suggérées au cours de la journée par les personnalités et organisations officielles.

PRENDRE ENFIN CONSCIENCE DU RESSENTI DES POPULATIONS LOCALES ET APPORTER DES ÉLÉMENTS DE RÉPONSE

ePOP fait appel à des experts qui prennent connaissance du ressenti et des questionnements exposés dans les vidéos. Ces derniers y répondent et illustrent le rôle de la recherche dans l’analyse et la gestion des questionnements soulevés. Les thématiques couvertes par le réseau de chercheurs mobilisés, couvrent plusieurs domaines : érosion, espèces invasives, gestion de l’eau douce et des ressources naturelles, sécurité alimentaire, déplacements de populations, sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel, impacts sociaux…

UNE PLATEFORME INTERNET PARTICIPATIVE ET UNE PRÉSENCE IMPORTANTE SUR LES RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX

ePOP s’appuie sur sa page Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/ePOPNetwork/ ) et sur sa plateforme de téléchargement intuitive (epop.network), alimentées par les productions du réseau d’ePOPers. Elles sont toutes conçues comme :

  • Des espaces d’information avec une présentation dynamique des thèmes traités par les clubs d’ePOPers ;
  • Des espaces d’échanges qui invitent les internautes à dialoguer avec les ePOPers ;
  • Des espaces de ressources documentaires proposées par la médiathèque numérique de l’IRD ;
  • Des outils interactifs pour informer et diffuser les vidéos réalisées par les ePOPers.

L’AFTER-POP

Pour pouvoir débattre ensemble des témoignages partagés dans les capsules vidéo, ePOP initie régulièrement des micro conférences publiques avec projections, à travers le monde. Les After-POP, c’est comme ça qu’elles s’appellent, sont conçues comme des café/débats et sont généralement organisées dans des lieux de rencontres comme des Brasseries, Centres culturels ou salles universitaires. Elaborées autour d’un parterre d’experts, de politiques, d’artistes et de responsables d’ONG, elles permettent aux citoyens locaux de débattre ouvertement des propositions suggérées au cours de la journée par les personnalités et organisations officielles. Les After-POP sont notamment organisées en marge des grands évènements internationaux traitant des problématiques environnementales et climatiques (COP, réunions GIEC, Forum Mondiaux Environnement, etc.).

DES RÉSEAUX TRÈS SOCIAUX

Depuis sa création, ePOP a toujours été très présent sur les réseaux. Parallèlement aux infos générales disponibles sur son site (epop.network) ou plus spécifiquement liées au Concours (concours.epop.network), les réseaux Instagram et Facebook hébergent les véritables journaux quotidiens d’ePOP. Et d’ailleurs, lors de la parution tous les vendredis, de la capsule de la semaine sur FaceBook, c’est la foire aux débats et aux remarques ! Des post du monde entier viennent commenter ou supporter les réalisateurs des capsules. Entre ePOPers, ça se passe comme ça…

ePOP EN CHIFFRES

Avec un réseau d’ePOPers venus de 50 pays, et des publications en 21 langues et dialectes, le réseau participatif ePOP se porte bien. Une médiathèque de + 500 vidéos venues du monde entier et qui s’enrichie de jour en jour, une communauté grandissante, trois antennes régionales dans le monde, et des capsules qui s’exportent par centaines de milliers chaque année. Au-delà de ses nombreuses publications sur Facebook/Instagram, la vie de la communauté est aussi alimentée par un journalisme de solutions qui se partage quotidiennement sur nos outils.